• Most new users don't bother reading our rules. Here's the one that is ignored almost immediately upon signup: DO NOT ASK FOR FANEDIT LINKS PUBLICLY. First, read the FAQ. Seriously. What you want is there. You can also send a message to the editor. If that doesn't work THEN post in the Trade & Request forum. Anywhere else and it will be deleted and an infraction will be issued.
  • If this is your first time here please read our FAQ and Rules pages. They have some useful information that will get us all off on the right foot, especially our Own the Source rule. If you do not understand any of these rules send a private message to one of our staff for further details.
  • Please read our Rules & Guidelines

Read BEFORE posting Trades & Request

DTS-HD MA Workflow?

emanswfan

Reaction score
Trophy Points
So, any easy workflow where I can keep and process this lossless track while video editing? I've never worked with DTS before but would love to keep it. Currently I use premier pro cs5 and encore cs5 to work, but I'm pretty sure I can't work DTS through this. I just want to have a simple workflow (plus upmixing for deleted scene insertion) in which I can keep the track. I know others here have done it, but I just have no experience with this.

Keeping your track lossless through your workflow is not really a problem because you should convert to an uncompressed format for editing, such as a .w64 file or individual mono wavs. The real issue is decoding your DTS-HD MA track. I would do this with eac3to and either Sonic or Arcsoft decoders, but both are paid software. I do not know if there is a free decoder available: NicDTS will do lossy DTS, but I do not know about lossless tracks.

If you can manage to decode your audio, you can edit losslessly all the way through your workflow, and either use LPCM on your final Blu-ray, or see what the encoder Geminigod was discussing recently can do for you.

^