• Most new users don't bother reading our rules. Here's the one that is ignored almost immediately upon signup: DO NOT ASK FOR FANEDIT LINKS PUBLICLY. First, read the FAQ. Seriously. What you want is there. You can also send a message to the editor. If that doesn't work THEN post in the Trade & Request forum. Anywhere else and it will be deleted and an infraction will be issued.
  • If this is your first time here please read our FAQ and Rules pages. They have some useful information that will get us all off on the right foot, especially our Own the Source rule. If you do not understand any of these rules send a private message to one of our staff for further details.
  • Please read our Rules & Guidelines

Read BEFORE posting Trades & Request

Copying HDR Metadata onto other footage?

Masirimso17

Cover Artist
Reaction score
Trophy Points
I'm going to sound like a complete noob when I say this, but is there any way to add HDR metadata to, say, 1080p deleted scene footage, or other footage that's not HDR?

I've created a 4K HDR editing setup that works very well for me, and if the source file has HDR metadata then I am able to export it to great results with the same black/white & color data with Premiere Pro. Unfortunately the problems start when I attempt to use outside footage like deleted scenes.

For example I'm working on a 4K version of @tremault's Thor 4 fanedit (with her gracious permission and assistance), but since she uses DaVinci, I am unable to export some motion tracked footage with the color data. Oddly, DaVinci is able to export the HDR-level black/white data but not the color data, resulting in similar contrast to the source film but without the color. This is why I resorted to using my familiar Premiere setup to export the edit, but the rest of the non-HDR footage remain, including motion-tracked effects shots.

Is there any way to do this?