• Most new users don't bother reading our rules. Here's the one that is ignored almost immediately upon signup: DO NOT ASK FOR FANEDIT LINKS PUBLICLY. First, read the FAQ. Seriously. What you want is there. You can also send a message to the editor. If that doesn't work THEN post in the Trade & Request forum. Anywhere else and it will be deleted and an infraction will be issued.
  • If this is your first time here please read our FAQ and Rules pages. They have some useful information that will get us all off on the right foot, especially our Own the Source rule. If you do not understand any of these rules send a private message to one of our staff for further details.
  • Please read our Rules & Guidelines

Read BEFORE posting Trades & Request

Avisynth for total newbies - extended edition as case study

theslime

Reaction score
Trophy Points
How I made an extended edition in Avisynth (and lived to tell the tale): A tutorial using only freeware/open source tools without sacrificing quality

What I did:
Made an extended edition with video and audio editing with Avisynth, Virtualdub and Audacity, and converted to DVD with Aften and HC and DVD styler. (Only freeware)

Background:
I rarely care for extended editions. Less usually is more. But then one day I watched the deleted scenes for one of my favourite films, Martin Scorsese's wonderful After Hours. They were uniformly excellent, adding even more infuriatingly funny plot twists to the whole. A couple of them lacked crucial starting frames (meaning that including them would have taken you out of the experience), or had other problems like lacking music or being dependent on other scenes that had been cut and not included on the DVD. But four of them could be included. And they were great.