• Most new users don't bother reading our rules. Here's the one that is ignored almost immediately upon signup: DO NOT ASK FOR FANEDIT LINKS PUBLICLY. First, read the FAQ. Seriously. What you want is there. You can also send a message to the editor. If that doesn't work THEN post in the Trade & Request forum. Anywhere else and it will be deleted and an infraction will be issued.
  • If this is your first time here please read our FAQ and Rules pages. They have some useful information that will get us all off on the right foot, especially our Own the Source rule. If you do not understand any of these rules send a private message to one of our staff for further details.
  • Please read our Rules & Guidelines

Structuring Story in a Long Edit

VCRusso

Reaction score
Trophy Points
Hello, I'm new to fan editing and I wanted to get a feel for something, specifically in a TV-to-Movie context. I'm working on a project using a season of a show with 22 episodes as a basis. 

Minor spoilers ahead for Gotham if you haven't seen it.

//

Gotham, particularly in its first season, follows a case-of-the-week format, being a crime drama. However, it also has a running storyline about Gotham's organized crime underworld that spans from the premiere to the finale, and this storyline sinks its way into the cases of the week at times. I've been trying to distill the best parts of this running mob storyline and make a film that follows it, with some minor side plots for flavor, and in the interest of doing more with the subsequent seasons once this project is done.

The question I wanted to ask is how editors typically take a lot of content and bake it down. Do you try to fit everything into a three or five act structure, do you just go with your gut and see how the movie flows? And as a follow up, if you foresee an edit getting past a 3 hour timeframe, do you consider breaking it into two parts or keeping it as one film?

The Scribbling Man

Tenant of the Tower of Flints
Staff member