• Most new users don't bother reading our rules. Here's the one that is ignored almost immediately upon signup: DO NOT ASK FOR FANEDIT LINKS PUBLICLY. First, read the FAQ. Seriously. What you want is there. You can also send a message to the editor. If that doesn't work THEN post in the Trade & Request forum. Anywhere else and it will be deleted and an infraction will be issued.
  • If this is your first time here please read our FAQ and Rules pages. They have some useful information that will get us all off on the right foot, especially our Own the Source rule. If you do not understand any of these rules send a private message to one of our staff for further details.
  • Please read our Rules & Guidelines

Read BEFORE posting Trades & Request

Newb - Help Please

gracie1979

Reaction score
Trophy Points
Hi,

I am completely new to fan editing but I am hooked on the concept and went out and bought some software. I have Movie Studio Platinum 12. Basically I'm just wondering the steps, if any to go about fan editing. I don't know this software yet, so I'm still learning and playing around with it. As far as the editing process, do you guys have steps you follow? Do you guys normally edit the audio separately. For example editing Superman II theatrical and the Richard Donner Cut into one complete film. How do you match the audio up with transitions or the quality of the video from each cut. Stuff like that, and I'm sure I'm missing much much more. Sorry for the complete newb questions but was just looking for a little guidance. The software is still brand new to me, so if you guys have used it and have some tips I would be very grateful!

Thanks

Welcome aboard! Have a look at the sticky'd threads on this particular board, all of the guides to editing and such. Also look at the sticky'd threads in the File Conversions board. There's lots of good information there. I myself edit on Vegas Pro, which I do believe is the step up from Movie Studio Platinum.