• Most new users don't bother reading our rules. Here's the one that is ignored almost immediately upon signup: DO NOT ASK FOR FANEDIT LINKS PUBLICLY. First, read the FAQ. Seriously. What you want is there. You can also send a message to the editor. If that doesn't work THEN post in the Trade & Request forum. Anywhere else and it will be deleted and an infraction will be issued.
  • If this is your first time here please read our FAQ and Rules pages. They have some useful information that will get us all off on the right foot, especially our Own the Source rule. If you do not understand any of these rules send a private message to one of our staff for further details.
  • Please read our Rules & Guidelines

Read BEFORE posting Trades & Request

Help! My files are either in Spanish or in poor quality. How do I convert better?

jay

Reaction score
Trophy Points
Hi, I'm a newbie fan editor just trying to figure things out. I've been enjoying your site for years and am hoping the time to give back is near. I've made an ambitious fan edit of The Hobbit (using discs I own), but the quality is poor. That's because I used Prism to convert the files prior to loading them into Movie Studio Platinum and it shrunk the files. I'd like to recut my edit using better quality files, but I'm not sure how to do this. When I use Vob2Mpg to convert the ripped DVD files into one big mpg, the quality is terrific, but somehow it's also in Spanish. No matter how many different ways I try to do it, it always ends up in Spanish.

What do I do?

Thanks,
Jay

You must be selecting the wrong/second audio stream somewhere along the line. Of course it's possible that the English stream I'm guessing youare after is not the first/default audio track.

no hay esperanza. estamos todos condenados.