• Most new users don't bother reading our rules. Here's the one that is ignored almost immediately upon signup: DO NOT ASK FOR FANEDIT LINKS PUBLICLY. First, read the FAQ. Seriously. What you want is there. You can also send a message to the editor. If that doesn't work THEN post in the Trade & Request forum. Anywhere else and it will be deleted and an infraction will be issued.
  • If this is your first time here please read our FAQ and Rules pages. They have some useful information that will get us all off on the right foot, especially our Own the Source rule. If you do not understand any of these rules send a private message to one of our staff for further details.
  • Please read our Rules & Guidelines

Vote now in wave 1 of the FEOTM Reboot!

Fanedits - Voting vs. Reviewing (?)

UnknwnFactor

Reaction score
Trophy Points
Greetings,

New guy here and as such, I am still learning the etiquette of the forum/site. I have been downloading/watching edits from the site for over a year now and have noticed something about the reviews and votes. I have noticed that often a fan edit will have a bunch of reviews, but only one or two votes - or - the other way around.

(I guess I should say, I have no ability to do either at this site, not sure why, so I haven't posted any reviews - but I am definitely anxious to do so!)

Here's my question/thought: if a person writes a review, shouldn't that person also cast a vote? or if a person casts a vote, shouldn't a review accompany that as well? When I am looking through new and existing edits to download and try out, I guess in my mind, I replace the word "vote" with the word "rating". If an edit has a very high rating (and/or good reviews to match), I will download it and watch it - even if it is a movie I might not generally watch.