If this is your first time here please read our FAQ and Rules pages. They have some useful information that will get us all off on the right foot. More details on our policies, especially our Own the Source rule are available here. If you do not understand any of these rules send a private message to one of our staff for further details.

Article: Fanedit.info Suspended... NO MORE!
reaper18783x Wrote:this site works for me, but only in IE not for Firefox
Thanks reaper18783x. Just tried it. Internet Explorer 11-no malware warnings for me popping up.
Using Safari.... Big giant malware warning. :-o
"... let's go exploring!" -- CALVIN.
tried on Chrome, showed site, no warning however. So I guess its time to run a malware scan on my PC.
Wow, lots if info here from google. Sounds pretty serious:

Quote:What is the current listing status for fanedit.info?
[INDENT]Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 2 time(s) over the past 90 days.
[/INDENT]What happened when Google visited this site?
[INDENT]Of the 6 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 3 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2014-01-20, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2014-01-20.Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including
This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS27956 (Cyber Cast International,).
[/INDENT]Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
[INDENT]Over the past 90 days, fanedit.info appeared to function as an intermediary for the infection of 1 site(s) including anonym.to/.
[/INDENT]Has this site hosted malware?
[INDENT]No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
[/INDENT]How did this happen?
[INDENT]In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.
[/INDENT]Next steps:
If I sound lackadaisical, it is because I have seen that warning when other joints went offline temporarily, then returned. Also, from a variety of UseNet or Torrent addresses.
I do run AdBlock+, as well as NoScript (which can be a royal pain).
Most of my malware has come when I was seeking accommodations in third world countries for holiday.

That said, I understand how others might shy away from that warning, which I personally view as intimidation and not a little coercion from the Thought Police.
I have faith that the masterminds behind Info are aware of the warning and are endeavoring to rectify the problem.
I also have faith they shall get this sorted out sooner rather than later.
latest the site simply says brb.
While the site was still up, I downloaded all of the RAR files containing the DLCs, NZBs, etc, from Fanedit.info (except for two that were offline). I also saved the page listing and linking to them as an mht file. I scanned the files for viruses (the scan showed up clean) and put them all into a 22 MB zip file. If anyone is interested, PM me.

If this post violates Fanedit.org rules, please inform me.
As long as you aren't posting the links, which you aren't, you should be fine.
jswert123456 Wrote:latest the site simply says brb.

Yeah, just getting the 'brb' message now, after the site seeming to be back properly the other day. Damn. What the hell does 'brb' stand for, I wonder?

BathRoom Break

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)