• Most new users don't bother reading our rules. Here's the one that is ignored almost immediately upon signup: DO NOT ASK FOR FANEDIT LINKS PUBLICLY. First, read the FAQ. Seriously. What you want is there. You can also send a message to the editor. If that doesn't work THEN post in the Trade & Request forum. Anywhere else and it will be deleted and an infraction will be issued.
  • If this is your first time here please read our FAQ and Rules pages. They have some useful information that will get us all off on the right foot, especially our Own the Source rule. If you do not understand any of these rules send a private message to one of our staff for further details.
  • Please read our Rules & Guidelines

Read BEFORE posting Trades & Request

Finalizing with FPC and DVD Studio

L8wrtr

Faneditor
Reaction score
Trophy Points
Hello fello Mac Fan Editors!

I'm a noob, so please bare with me. I'm working on a relatively new iMac dual core with plenty of memory (for now). I am editing in Final Cut Pro, and have most of the bells and whistles such as DVD Studio, Compresser etc..

Excluding an issue about the opening crawl for Star Wars E3, I have a rough cut of one of my edits that I wanted to test so I burned to DVD to see the results. I'm not satisfied with the results so I'm hoping that someone more experienced can point me in the right direction. (I'm at work and not in front of my computer so I'm going to run off of memory here)

My workflow was as follows (provided to me by someone who edits original movies, but not a fan editor):

The clip in question runs 2 hours 13 minutes, or 133 minutes.

In FPC I used Send to -> Compressor. As I'm planning on using a dual layer DVD, my friend suggested I try setting to 90 minute version believing this would provide the least compression which would then be mitigated by using the DL disk. Set the sample rate (I think it's called) to 7 and then submitted. It created an AC3 and M2v file as expected.