• Most new users don't bother reading our rules. Here's the one that is ignored almost immediately upon signup: DO NOT ASK FOR FANEDIT LINKS PUBLICLY. First, read the FAQ. Seriously. What you want is there. You can also send a message to the editor. If that doesn't work THEN post in the Trade & Request forum. Anywhere else and it will be deleted and an infraction will be issued.
  • If this is your first time here please read our FAQ and Rules pages. They have some useful information that will get us all off on the right foot, especially our Own the Source rule. If you do not understand any of these rules send a private message to one of our staff for further details.
  • Please read our Rules & Guidelines

Read BEFORE posting Trades & Request

New to Fan editing: Guides/advice/etc

cubbyguy1

Reaction score
Trophy Points
I am new to fan editing. Can someone point me to some helpful guides whether on the forums here or elsewhere for getting started? Things I am wondering about are how to separate music/dialogue so that one can go about removing/inserting new audio, changing aspect ratios (if possible).... I know some things take time to learn and money to afford software. I have ideas mostly for Star Wars fan edits (like the rest of the world) and I want to get started before I die. My guess is I am the most inexperienced person here when it comes to editing. I've been on the site for years though and love the work everyone does. Fan edits are amazing.

Thanks

Before you even start to ask technical questions, get an editing software (I use Sony Vegas), then we can start talking about fan-editing.

wilhelm scream said:
Before you even start to ask technical questions, get an editing software (I use Sony Vegas), then we can start talking about fan-editing.

Yeah, I'd probably ignore that "advice" and anything else wilhelm scream says about "technical questions".

I'll try to brief with these answers...

cubbyguy1 said: