• Most new users don't bother reading our rules. Here's the one that is ignored almost immediately upon signup: DO NOT ASK FOR FANEDIT LINKS PUBLICLY. First, read the FAQ. Seriously. What you want is there. You can also send a message to the editor. If that doesn't work THEN post in the Trade & Request forum. Anywhere else and it will be deleted and an infraction will be issued.
  • If this is your first time here please read our FAQ and Rules pages. They have some useful information that will get us all off on the right foot, especially our Own the Source rule. If you do not understand any of these rules send a private message to one of our staff for further details.
  • Please read our Rules & Guidelines

Read BEFORE posting Trades & Request

Downloaded .mp4 audio track not working

George Jetson

Reaction score
Trophy Points
I'm no newbie, but this one has me stumped. I hope someone smarter than me has encountered this and can offer me a solution.

I downloaded an .mp4 file and then added metadata with Subler, as I always do. After uploading to iTunes, the file played fine, but no audio. So, I went back to Subler and the audio track indicated none, 0ch. So then I played it in VLC just to be sure I didn't miss a .rar archive part and it played and sounded fine.

At this point I assumed its a Subler thing, so I took the next step and converted it to an .m4v using iFlicks2; iTunes compatible preset. It converted without a hitch, but still no audio during playback. Subler says there is now a nice AAC 3ch audio track residing in the file.

Before I go to DefCon 5 and create an .mkv and then convert that, are there any tricks or tips you may have to fix the audio glitch?

Thanks.

If VLC played it, then the audio is there. VLC plays damn near everything, go to. Go to the "Codec Information" menu and see what it says. What edit is this anyway?

TM2YC said: